

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE Economics and Statistics Administration U.S. Census Bureau

Washington, DC 20233-0001 OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

DEC 2 7 2010

Mr. Frederick Radcliffe California Citizens Redistricting Committee Secretary of State, Human Resources Unit 1500 11th Street, Suite 475 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Mr. Radcliffe

On behalf of the U.S. Census Bureau Director, Dr. Robert M. Groves, I am writing this letter regarding the upcoming data releases for the 2010 Census Redistricting Data Program.

The results of the 2010 Census will come to you in a series of five mailings: one that will provide you with the 2010 Census Redistricting Data [P.L. 94-171] Summary Files, one that supplies you with the 2010 Census Redistricting Data [P.L. 94-171] Summary Files' technical documentation, and three that will supply the geographic support products. The purpose of this letter is to provide you with a copy of the 2010 Census Redistricting [P.L. 94-171] TIGER/LineTM Shapefiles for your state.

These files are designed to support the upcoming release of the 2010 Census Redistricting Data [P.L. 94-171] Summary Files that will be produced and shipped beginning in February 2011. The 2010 Census Redistricting [P.L. 94-171] TIGER/LineTM Shapefiles contain a wealth of geography including the new 2010 tabulation blocks. Web links to the data and documentation for all available redistricting related Census products are located on the Redistricting Data Office's website at www.census.gov/rdo on the "Data" tab.

If you have any questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me or the Assistant Chief, James Whitehorne, at 301-763-4039.

Thank you.

Cathy McCully, Chief

2010 Census Redistricting Data Office

Enclosures

The Honorable Jerry Brown, Governor of California

The Honorable Gavin Newsom, Lieutenant Governor/President of the Senate

The Honorable Darrell Steinberg, Senate President Pro Tem

The Honorable Ellen Corbett, Senate Majority Leader

The Honorable Robert Dutton, Senate Minority Leader

The Honorable John Perez, Speaker of the Assembly

The Honorable Fiona Ma, Speaker Pro Tem

The Honorable Charles Calderon, Majority Floor Leader

The Honorable Connie Conway, Minority Floor Leader

Mr. Jim Wisley, Chief Consultant to the Speaker

Mr. Doug Yoakam, Legislative Director

Mr. Bob Twomey, District Director

Mr. Nick Hardeman, Capitol Director

Mr. Michael Wagaman, Consultant, Speaker of the Assembly

Mr. Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant

Ms. Mary Heim, Chief, Demographic Research Unit, Governor's Liaison

Mr. Frederick Radcliffe, California Citizens Redistricting Committee

Ms. Julie Hoang, State Data Center Contact