

Fact Sheet on Redistricting and the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission

- California must redraw the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts every ten years to reflect the new federal census population data.
- In November 2008, California voters passed the Voters FIRST Act (Act), authorizing the creation of the
 Citizens Redistricting Commission (Commission) to draw new district lines, taking the job out of the hands
 of the Legislature, and giving it to the citizens. Prior to 2008, California legislators drew the district lines. In
 2010, the Voters FIRST Act for Congress added the responsibility of drawing Congressional districts to the
 Commission.
- The Act requires the California State Auditor, an independent, non-partisan entity, to initiate an application process for selecting the members of the Commission.
- In conformity with strict, non-partisan rules designed to create districts of relatively equal population and
 with the goal of providing fair representation for all Californians, the Commission draws the district
 boundaries for the Congressional districts, State Senate districts, State Assembly districts, and State Board
 of Equalization districts.









- The Commission is comprised of 14 members: five members who are Democrats, five members who are Republicans, and four members who are either registered without, or "independent" of, any political party (decline-to-state or no party preference) or with another party.
- Working together, the Commission approves four maps: one for the Congressional districts, one for the
 State Senate districts, one for the State Assembly districts, and one for the State Board of Equalization
 districts. Once the Commission has approved the final four maps, the maps are certified by the Secretary
 of State with a report explaining the basis on which the Commission made its decisions.
- The Commission holds public meetings and accepts public testimony to assist in drawing the new electoral
 maps. They have approximately one year to determine and approve the district maps by August 15, 2021,
 when the final maps are presented to the Secretary of State for certification. This date may change due to
 delays in receiving the Census data.
- The Commission must adhere to the following criteria when drawing district maps:
 - 1. Districts must be of equal population to comply with the U.S. Constitution.
 - 2. Districts must comply with the Voting Rights Act to ensure that minorities have an equal opportunity to elect representatives of their choice.
 - 3. Districts must be contiguous so that all parts of the district are connected to each other.
 - 4. Districts must respect the boundaries of cities, counties, neighborhoods and communities of interest, and minimize their division, to the extent possible.
 - 5. Districts should be geographically compact, that is, have a fairly regular shape.
 - 6. Where practicable, each Senate District should be comprised of two complete and adjacent Assembly Districts, and the Board of Equalization districts shall be composed of 10 complete and adjacent State Senate Districts.

