

January 13, 2021

Assemblymember Shirley Weber State Capitol, Room 3123 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 2172 - COUNTING INCARCERATED PERSONS FOR REDISTRICTING

Dear Assemblymember Weber,

First and foremost, congratulations on your recent appointment to Secretary of State. We very much look forward to working with you on the redistricting process. Thank you for your correspondence urging the California Citizens Redistricting Commission to "deem each incarcerated person as residing at his or her last known place of residence, rather than at the institution of his or her incarceration" pursuant to Election Code section 21003 (d).

The Citizens Redistricting Commission takes seriously its mission to conduct an open and transparent process that enables public input on drawing of district lines in accordance with the law with integrity and fairness. We commend your work as author of Assembly Bill 2172 and as Chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus. The Commission shares your concern that the appropriate manner to account for incarcerated individuals for redistricting purposes is to consider them as members of the community where they last resided.

At its January 12, 2021 commission meeting the Citizens Redistricting Commission heard two presentations on this matter from the Prison Policy Institute and the Statewide Database & the Election Administration Research Center at UC Berkeley. After thoughtful deliberation, the Commission unanimously approved a motion to "deem each incarcerated person as residing at his or her last known place of residence, rather than at the institution of his or her incarceration," in accordance with Election Code section 21003 (d).

We look forward to working with you in your new capacity, and again, congratulations.

Sincerely,

Antonio Le Mons Chair



CALIFORNIA CITIZENS REDISTRICTING COMMISSION

> Daniel Claypool Executive Director

**Commissioners:** 

Isra Ahmad Linda Akutagawa Jane Andersen Alicia Fernández Neal Fornaciari J. Ray Kennedy Antonio Le Mons Sara Sadhwani Patricia Sinay Derric Taylor Pedro Toledo Trena Turner Angela Vázquez Russell Yee

