## California State Auditor Randomly Draws The Names of First Eight Commissioners to Serve on The 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission

Sacramento, Calif. (July 2, 2020)—Today, the California State Auditor announced the names of the first eight commissioners to serve on California's 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission (Commission). As required by law, the State Auditor randomly selected three applicants from a subpool of registered Democrats, three applicants from a subpool of registered Republicans and two applicants who are not affiliated with either of those two parties. These newly selected commissioners are tasked with selecting the remaining six members who will serve on the 2020 Commission, which will total five Democrats, five Republicans, and four members from neither of those parties.

"It's with great pleasure I announce the first eight members of the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission," said Elaine M. Howle, the California State Auditor. "It has been over a year since the start of the application and selection process, and since then the team of three Applicant Review Panel members rigorously vetted thousands of application materials. Today's random drawing culminates the tireless efforts of the Applicant Review Panel and those of my office to lead an open and transparent application and selection process."

The Commissioners selected today were part of 35 eligible applicants that remained in the subpools after legislative leaders, as required by law, exercised their strikes and eliminated 24 applicants from a pool of the 60 most qualified applicants identified. One applicant withdrew from the pool while the Legislature was reviewing the application materials. The State Auditor received the final pool of applicants from these leaders on June 26, 2020.

While adhering to appropriate social distancing guidelines with respect to the COVID-19 pandemic, the State Auditor held a random drawing to select the first eight commissioners that was broadcast live to the public via a video conferencing service. Each newly selected commissioner offers different skills, experiences, and perspectives that will benefit the new 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission. For the list of the first eight commissioners that were selected, please visit ShapeCaliforniasFuture.auditor.ca.gov.

The first eight commissioners will go on to select the remaining six commissioners with an eye toward forming the complete, 14-member Commission by August 15, 2020. The California State Auditor's Office will remain a resource as each commissioner gets the requisite training and support staff is hired. Once formed, the Commission will redraw the lines for California's Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts, based on information gathered during the 2020 census. The Commission must draw the districts in conformity with strict, nonpartisan rules designed to create districts of relatively equal population that will provide fair representation for all Californians.

About the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission

Every ten years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, California must redraw the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts. In 2008, California voters passed the Voters FIRST Act authorizing the creation of an independent Commission comprised of 14 members. The 2020 Commission will include five Democrats, five Republicans, and four who are either registered without, or "independent" of, any political party (decline-to-state or no party preference) or with another party. The Commission is responsible for drawing the lines of each district.

For more information, please visit ShapeCaliforniasFuture.auditor.ca.gov.

###