Welcome to our website where you will be able to find information about California’s Redistricting Process.

Every ten years, after the federal census, California must re-establish the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts to reflect new population data and shifting populations. The Voters FIRST Act gave this power to California citizens ensuring that new and fair political boundaries are drawn without special interests, politics and political influence.

As was done ten years ago, a new independent redistricting commission made up of 14 citizens—five Democrats, five Republicans, and four that are not affiliated with either of those two parties—will be responsible for drawing the new district lines.

The 14-member 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission is fully formed. As required by law, the first eight members of the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission were randomly selected on July 2, 2020 from a list of remaining applicants delivered by the Legislature on June 26, 2020. These first eight members chose the final six members from the applicants that remained in the applicant pool on August 7, 2020.

Congratulations to the full 14 members of the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission:

  • Isra Ahmad, No Party Preference
  • Dr. Sara Sadhwani, Democrat
  • Linda Akutagawa, No Party Preference
  • Patricia Sinay, Democrat
  • Jane Andersen, Republican
  • Derric Taylor, Republican
  • Alicia Fernández, Republican
  • Pedro Toledo, No Party Preference
  • Neal Fornaciari, Republican
  • Trena Turner, Democrat
  • Dr. J. Ray Kennedy, Democrat
  • Angela Vázquez, Democrat
  • Antonio Le Mons, No Party Preference
  • Dr. Russell Yee, Republican


Meetings and Agenda                     


This website is in the process of being updated.